RSS

Daily Archives: July 13, 2015

Author Interview With Elisa Koopmans

New York Book Festival 477
Perceived Threat Front Cover - May 2015
I had the pleasure of meeting Elisa outside of the Port Jefferson Library, she kindly led me in the right direction of the event where we were both being featured as New York authors in May. It was a lovely time at the event meeting locals, fans, and many of Long Island’s literary finest.
 
1. When did you start putting pen to paper?
 
Professionally, about thirty years ago when I became an attorney. However, the writing was legal and technical, mostly Wills, Trust Agreements, Powers of Attorney and contracts. There was no creativity in those documents. My first real pen to paper experience with fiction occurred about four years ago when I started writing Perceived Threat, a political thriller and “whodunit” murder mystery. 
 
2. What’s your literary poison – prose, poetry, etc.?
 
Prose, especially murder mystery.
 
3. Who is your favorite fictional hero?
 
Merryweather, one of the three fairies in Disney’s Sleeping Beauty. She is the one in blue. I like her because she is kind, caring and full of love, but she is also feisty, determined and assertive when the situation calls for it. She has spunk and perseveres no matter what problem befalls her.
 
4. Which famous writer can you most identify with?
 
Agatha Christie. She is a master of the “whodunit.” I love it when the reader has no idea who did it until Miss Marple or Hercule Peirot reveal the murderer at the end of the story. 
 
5. What are your current projects? (*Include books, novellas, short stories, poems, blogs, awards or anything of interest.)
 
On June 19, I was awarded a New York Book Festival award for Perceived Threat, so that was my most recent project with the book. I am currently marketing Perceived Threat, as it was only released on April 28. During any spare time I can find, I work on my next novel, No One Will Ever Know, which is another murder and mystery story, but entirely different than Perceived Threat.
 
6. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book or writing piece?
 
Yes, I would change the quote at the beginning of the book. I like the quote, but the other day I stumbled upon another quote that is absolutely perfect. It was said by Henry David Thoreau in 1951: “It is not what you look at that matters, it is what you see.” Since the main theme of Perceived Threatis perception, this quote concisely captures the concept of perception and hints at what lies in the text of the book.
 
7. Do you have any advice for other writers?
 
Take your writing projects one sentence at a time. That way, the project will not overwhelm you.
 
8. What were your grades like in English class? (A, B, anything less than this is shameful 😉
 
I received As in most of my work in English, although I had no particular interest in or intrigue with creative writing at that time.
 
9. How much research do you do for your writing?
 
Lots. Even though the story is fiction, I want as much reality as possible in the story. I think that helps to bring the story to life. For example, Perceived Threat takes place primarily in Washington, DC. I extensively researched the neighborhoods of DC so that places I mention are real and accurately portrayed.
 
10. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?
 
I write on a computer, but since my computer is not with me all the time, when I get a story idea and I am away from my computer, I resort to handwritten notes.
 
11. What is the best advice you’ve been given?
 
My father taught me that “you never fail until you stop trying.” Albert Einstein said it, but my father lives it.
 
12.  What book do you think everyone should read?
 
The Bible, especially the new testament for specific guidance on the right way to treat others in life.
 
 13. Two-part question: Do you play an musical instrument? And what instrument would you like to learn to play?
 
I did play the clarinet from 6th grade through high school, but I have not played it since graduation, although I still have it. The instrument that I would love to learn to play is my voice – my vocal cords – as I wish I could sing. My singing voice is terrible, but I love to sing. Consequently, I sing often when I am alone.
 
14. What process did (or are you going) you go through to get your book published?
 
I read The Fine Print of Self-Publishing by Mark Levine who owns Hillcrest Media in Minneapolis, which is a publishing company. It has various imprints, some of which are exclusively for self-publishing authors and others under which they publish traditionally. I wanted a publisher that produced the same quality as a traditional publisher even though I was paying the costs directly. One of my two editors used to work for Simon & Schuster. Mark’s book is a great marketing tool for his company because it sold me on publishing with him. My publishing process lasted one year.
 
15. Who would you like to change places with… i.e. live someone else’s life for a week?
 
Richard Castle. I realize he is a fictional television character, but he is a highly successful, best-selling murder mystery writer who leads an exciting life in New York City. I would love to experience his success as an author for a week.
 
16. If you weren’t a writer, what would be your ideal profession?
I would be an attorney, and I am. Truth be told, I would rather be a full-time author than a full-time attorney.
 
17. Two-part question: Bill Murray or Chevy Chase? And John Cleese or Michael Palin?
 
Bill Murray, as he generally seems to be a sincere person. John Cleese because he can equally as well be hilarious or serious in his acting.
 
18. What’s your most rewarding literary accomplishment to date (one that just blew your mind!)
Being selected this month as one of the award winners of the New York Book Festival where the criteria is two-fold: the storytelling of the author has to be outstanding and the book has to have the potential for wide public recognition. It is rewarding to have someone you do not know personally tell you your book is fantastic.
  
19.  What quote do you live by?
 
“We do not have to become heroes overnight. Just a step at a time, meeting each thing that comes up … discovering we have the strength to stare it down.” Eleanor Roosevelt
 
20. What would be your ideal writer profession ambition? (famous pulitzer prize winning author, successful self-published author as a day job, etc.)
 
To find my novels on the New York Times best sellers list and to have that result in thousands of my books being bought by avid readers who love my books. Quite a goal, right?!
    
21. Would you like to ask me a question?
 
Yes. What do you find is the best free marketing tool for an author’s book?
WordPress blog (shameless plug for my author interviews), twitter, and Facebook hands down.
 
Congratulations to Elisa for her award winning success at the New York Book Festival, such an honor! I can’t wait to read Elisa’s book, be sure to pick up your copy of Perceived Threat. Just have to give a shout to your book cover Elisa, very visually appetizing… keep up the great work.
 
 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2015 in Unedited Quill Spills

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,