RSS

Author Interview With Luciana V. Suárez

07 Jan

me

Happy New Year everyone! I’m pleased to announce I’ll be posting new writing treats in the coming days which I think you’ll enjoy – be sure to let me know your thoughts. And of course more author interviews – anyone in this realm that would like to be interviewed with the below questions, please email me at lmontanino@gmail.com

Now back to the show with beautifully-talented writer Luciana V. Suárez…

1. When did you start putting pen to paper?
I have written since I was fifteen, by that time I used to write just poems until I was twenty three (but I didn’t write often) then when I was twenty five I started to write stories and ever since I have written more often until two years ago, then I started to write every day.

2. What’s your literary poison, prose, poetry, etc?
Prose, since I read and write about it and like. As I stated before, I used to write poetry as a teenager but not anymore.

3. Who is your favorite fictional hero?
Probably Winifred Foster from ”Tuck Everlasting” because she’s very brave and unique.

4. Which famous writer can you most identify with?
No one in particular… I guess anyone who writes fantasy, science fiction, or mystery.

5. What are your current projects? (*Include books, novellas, short stories, blogs, awards, or anything of interest.)
I’m currently writing a novel of romance and science fiction. It’s about a time traveler.

6. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book or writing piece?
No, because once I revise what I write, I change the parts I don’t like and I’m very satisfied with my work.

7. Do you have any advice for other writers?
Read, write, turn off the internet and write every day. If you have a party or a reunion with people don’t go and stay at home to write. It might sound selfish or rude but that’s the only way to keep you focused on writing and to accomplish a story.

8. What were your grades like in English class? (A, B, anything less than this is shameful 😉
A, of course. But on the other hand I was a mess in math or chemistry. Since I love words, I hate numbers (like most writers) 🙂

9. How much research do you do for your writing?
Not so much like I should, since I write fantasy, mystery, and science fiction I tend to invent most of the things I write… of course many of them are taken from things I read in the past or saw in movies or TV so I don’t investigate much about it… although with the novel I’m currently writing I had to do some research because for me… time travelers are one of the most complicate characters to write given that there are rules about their ability and the time and space so I read some tips from blogs and authors on how to build a time traveler story. Another way of research is by asking advice on Tumblr – edwebs-writershelp, they’re really helpful and I also ask for advice authors on Twitter. For example, for this novel I asked for thoughts from Robert Sawyer and Tamara Ireland Stone, since they both wrote books about time travelers and they were really helpful.

10. Do you write on typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?
I only write on my computer, it’s like my computer and me have become inseparables.

11. What is the best advice you’ve been given?
Read, write, revise, and repeat. Write even when you’re not in the mood for it or you feel kinda blocked.

12. What book do you think everyone should read?
”Alice Adventures In Wonderland” you can’t go through life without having read it!

13. Two-part question: do you play a musical instrument? And what instrument would you like to learn to play?
I do not play any musical instrument but I would love to learn to play the piano.

14. What process did (or are you going) you go through to get your book published?
The usual I guess, send a manuscript to some agencies or editorials in my country because the self-publish way doesn’t work well in here.

15. Who would you like to change places with…i.e. live someone else’s life for a week?
Stephen King because he wrote so many books I love to read… or Nora Roberts or Kate Morton, since they all are masters of suspense and I don’t think I’ll be able to do such things like that.

16. If you weren’t a writer, what would be your ideal profession?
Screenplay writer or movie director since I love movies and TV shows, I can’t think about other thing that doesn’t involve a fictional story.

17. Two-part question: Bill Murray or Chevy Chase? John Cleese or Michael Palin?
Chevy Chase because I grew up watching the National Lampoons movies. And John Cleese.

18. What’s your most rewarding literary accomplishment to date? (One that just blew your mind!)
I used to be pretty shy when it came about letting others reading what I write (or letting them to know that I even write) so when one of my best friends who loves reading asked me to read something I sent her some novels and she was really hooked, she’s the first person that read something that I wrote so I consider that a great accomplishment.

19. What quote do you live by?
”Write freely and as rapidly as possible and throw the whole thing on paper” John Steinbeck. This quote helps me to keep focused.

20. What would be your ideal writer profession ambition? (Famous Pulitzer, prize winning author, successful self-published author as a day job, etc).
Just to be published, and the rest will come.

21. Would you like to ask me a question?
The question number 20 you asked me: What would be your ideal writer profession ambition?
To continue as a successful novelist plus being a contributor to a publication like The Evening Standard, or if I’m really liked by the fans… The New York Times.

Special thanks to Luciana for interviewing with me, not only is she a lovely addition to the writing community but she’s one of my first and favorite followers on Twitter. I have tripled my followers and audience because of her praises and am honored to rave about her when her book is out. In the meantime follow this talented lady on Twitter here: @luz_albright

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 7, 2015 in Unedited Quill Spills

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Author Interview With Luciana V. Suárez

Leave a Reply

 
